Free shipping on orders over £45

UK Made CBD Oil: British Brands, What ‘Made in the UK’ Means and How to Check

UK made CBD oil is oil that is formulated, blended and bottled in Britain. The CBD itself is usually extracted abroad, because a UK hemp licence covers only seeds and stalks.

Evopure Broad Spectrum CBD Oil 1,000mg bottle and box on stone blocks beside a candle and eucalyptus

Last updated: November 2026

UK made CBD oil is oil that is formulated, blended and bottled in Britain. The CBD itself is usually extracted abroad, because a UK hemp licence covers only seeds and stalks. Brands that say they make their oils in the UK include Evopure, CBD Brothers, HempWell, Love Hemp, CBD Guru and British Cannabis (checked November 2026).

Below: those brands compared, what “made in the UK” really means for CBD, how to check any oil yourself, and our own pick.

UK made CBD oil brands compared

Every fact below comes from the brand’s own website and the FSA public list, both checked on 3 November 2026. We list what each brand says, not a ranking. Evopure isn’t connected with any of the other brands.

Brand Where it says it makes its oils Hemp or CBD source it states FSA public list
Evopure Made in the UK (our product pages) Broad spectrum CBD from US-grown hemp, 0% THC 23 entries, all Validated (RP-438, RP-47 and RP-821)
CBD Brothers A UK family business “growing, manufacturing, and selling”; head office near Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk “Small, artisan farms” (country not stated) 70 entries, all Validated
HempWell “Handcrafted in our own York laboratories”; lists Made in Britain and Made in Yorkshire “From Seed to Shelf” Hemp Well Ltd entries, 103 of 106 Validated
Love Hemp “Made in the UK”; address in Watford Not stated on the pages we checked 40 of 45 entries Validated
CBD Guru “Manufactured in the UK” in its own facility in Scunthorpe Hemp growers “in the USA heartlands” 42 entries, all Validated (RP-427)
British Cannabis (Canabidol) Launched in 2015 to offer “British-made CBD”; testing lab in Berkshire, office in Wokingham Its research farm is in Portugal 21 Canabidol entries, all Validated
CROP England A Lincolnshire farm with a Home Office hemp licence Products “ethically sourced or naturally grown on our farm” 51 entries, 49 Validated

Notice the third column. Most brands say where they make their oil, but fewer say where the hemp was grown, and those that do often name another country. That is normal for CBD, as the next section explains. For a wider comparison by strength, spectrum and lab reports, see our best CBD oil UK guide; brand pages such as Supreme CBD (Liverpool) and Orange County CBD cover other UK companies.

What “made in the UK” means for CBD oil

In the UK, hemp farmers need a Home Office licence, and that licence lets them use only the seeds and the fibre or mature stalk. The leaves and flowers, where almost all the CBD is, count as controlled parts of the plant. The Home Office says applications to produce CBD oils from those parts “will not be considered” under hemp licensing.

So the CBD in British oils is almost always extracted abroad, often in Europe or the US, then brought in as an ingredient: a broad spectrum extract, a distillate or an isolate. “Made in the UK” then means the UK steps: measuring the CBD into a carrier oil such as MCT, adding any herbs or flavours, bottling, labelling and batch testing. Our guide to how CBD is extracted covers the step that usually happens before the oil arrives here, and hemp vs marijuana explains the legal line between the plants.

UK made, UK grown and UK based are different claims

  • UK made: the oil is formulated and bottled in Britain.
  • UK grown: the hemp was grown here. Rare for the CBD itself, given the licence rules above.
  • UK based: the company has a UK address. Its products may be made by another company, here or abroad. Many CBD brands use contract (“white label”) makers.

Are there rules on “made in Britain” claims?

There’s no special definition for CBD. The advertising rules (the CAP Code, enforced by the ASA) say marketers should not imply a product is made or manufactured in Britain if it isn’t, and a Union Flag can count as an origin claim. Food labels must give the real country of origin if the packaging could suggest the food comes from somewhere else.

Does UK made matter?

It can. A UK maker works under UK food law, you can see who made your oil, and delivery is short. Returns and questions go to a company you can contact here.

But where an oil is bottled doesn’t tell you what is in it. Two things matter more: an entry on the FSA public list, which is what lets a CBD food stay on sale in England and Wales, and a batch lab report showing the CBD and THC content. If those are missing, a “made in Britain” badge doesn’t make up for it. Our guide to why CBD oil costs what it does covers the other signs of fair value.

How to check a CBD oil is UK made and legal

  1. Find the maker. Look for a company name and UK address on the label and website, then search it on Companies House. A UK address alone doesn’t prove the oil was made here.
  2. Read the origin wording. “Made in the UK” or “manufactured in the UK” is a specific claim. A flag, a .co.uk address or prices in pounds is not.
  3. Search the FSA public list. Products marked “Validated” or “Awaiting evidence” may stay on sale in England and Wales; products not on the list or marked “Removed” must be withdrawn. The list shows the company linked to the application, which is often the CBD ingredient supplier rather than the bottler, so it confirms legal status, not origin. More in is CBD legal in the UK? and the FSA’s first CBD approvals.
  4. Ask for the batch lab report. It should name the batch, the CBD content and THC. Our guide to reading CBD lab reports shows what to look for.
  5. Check the daily amount on the label. Current FSA advice for healthy adults is no more than 10mg CBD a day (see the 10mg advice explained). Some UK sites still quote the older 70mg figure.
  6. Skip “UK hemp flower” offers. Hemp flowers and leaves are controlled parts of the plant in the UK, whatever their THC level. See how to avoid CBD scams.

Our pick: Evopure Broad Spectrum CBD Oil

For a UK made CBD oil, Evopure’s Broad Spectrum CBD Oil is broad spectrum CBD in coconut MCT oil, with 0% THC, made in the UK from hemp grown in the USA, and vegan. It comes in a 10ml bottle at 500mg, 1,000mg or 2,000mg, and it is on the FSA public list, linked to validated application RP-438.

Our pick

CBD Oil Broad Spectrum

Broad Spectrum CBD Oil, 500mg, is the simplest oil we make: broad spectrum CBD in coconut MCT oil and nothing else. A good first UK made oil.

Add the 500mg oil to bag or choose another strength

Made in the UK, vegan, 0% THC. CBD batch lab reports from ISO 17025 labs on request via our lab testing page. For adults (18+). Free UK delivery over £45, 14-day returns on unopened items.

Subscribe from £18.74One-off from £24.99

View product

How much to take: our oils suggest up to half a pipette (about 17.5mg CBD on a 500mg bottle). The FSA advises healthy adults to take no more than 10mg a day; this is precautionary advice while research continues, not a legal limit, so if you want to stay within it, use about 0.2ml on the 500mg (0.1ml on the 1,000mg).

The FSA’s 10mg a day figure is precautionary advice rather than a legal limit, set while longer-term safety research continues. At Evopure we think it is a very cautious figure, and many adults use more. If you go above it, increase slowly, and check with your GP or pharmacist first if you take any medication.

CBD can interact with some medicines, so if you take any regular medicines, check with your GP or pharmacist first (see CBD and medication). We don’t recommend our products during pregnancy or breastfeeding.

Prefer no measuring? Our Broad Spectrum CBD Capsules come in 10mg or 25mg; the 10mg capsule matches the FSA figure. Read more about the format in broad spectrum CBD oil explained and full vs broad spectrum vs isolate.

Sources 6

  1. Home Office (gov.uk). Industrial hemp licensing factsheet (updated 18 December 2025).
  2. Food Standards Agency (gov.uk). CBD products linked to novel food applications (public list); full list at data.food.gov.uk, downloaded 3 November 2026.
  3. Food Standards Agency (gov.uk). Cannabidiol (CBD) guidance.
  4. ASA. Rule(s) Britannia: a look at country of origin claims.
  5. gov.uk. Food labelling: giving food information to consumers.
  6. Brand facts from cbdbrothers.com, hempwell.co.uk, lovehemp.com, cbd-guru.co.uk, canabidol.com and cropengland.co.uk, checked 3 November 2026.

This guide is general information, not medical advice. Evopure makes the Broad Spectrum CBD Oil, Broad Spectrum CBD Capsules and Flow CBD Oil.

Written by

Co-founder, Evopure

Martin co-founded Evopure and writes about sleep, stress and recovery. Our articles are general information, not medical advice.

Questions, answered

Brands that say on their own sites that they make their oils in the UK include Evopure, CBD Brothers, HempWell, Love Hemp, CBD Guru and British Cannabis (checked November 2026). Check each product's label, FSA list entry and lab report.

Yes. Evopure's CBD oils are made in the UK from hemp grown in the USA, broad spectrum with 0% THC, vegan, and on the FSA public list linked to validated applications. CBD batch lab reports are available on request via our lab testing page.

Hemp can be grown under a Home Office licence, but only the seeds and fibre may be used. The leaves and flowers, where the CBD is, are controlled, so most CBD in UK oils is extracted abroad and the oil is then made here.

Not automatically. A UK maker works under UK food law and is easy to contact, but the FSA list entry and a batch lab report tell you more about what is in the bottle than where it was filled.

Search the FSA public list. Products marked "Validated" or "Awaiting evidence" may stay on sale in England and Wales; products not on the list or marked "Removed" must be withdrawn. Then check the THC result on the batch lab report.

A lower strength broad spectrum oil is the usual start. Evopure's Broad Spectrum CBD Oil 500mg is made in the UK; about 0.2ml gives 10mg, the FSA's daily figure for healthy adults.

Shop the article

Mentioned in this article

Evopure
★ 4.7  ·  500,000+ customers  ·  UK made